Latest Posts

A Case Against NTRP Ratings Expiration Putting It All Together: My Daily Plantar Fasciitis Prevention Routine Tennis Beyond the Headlines: March 31, 2025 A Mother’s Day and Father’s Day Gift Idea A Great Gift for Grads… and Tennis Players Basket Case: The Gift of Tennis for Easter Improve Your Tennis IQ: The off-court workout for on-court skills

How to Lose a Point: Hitting the Ball too Early

I feel compelled to note that I am not scouring the internet for clips of umpires missing calls. However, missed calls are the ones that tend to be captured and posted to YouTube, so that is generally what turns up in searches. Additionally, missed calls are usually great backdrops for more extensive discussions about the nuances of the rules. They are also fabulously entertaining.

Losing a Point: Permanent Fixtures

If it seems like I have already written about this rule, it is because I actually have. In “Permanent Fixtures, Again” I wrote a lot about how the ball striking a permanent fixture is a point loss. There is good reason for that. It is because the section we were covering at that time basically says the exact same thing.

Two Serves or Not Two Serves, That is the Question

In the “History of the Service Let” we discussed that there really isn’t a satisfactory reason recorded as to why the service let even exists. One speculative reason is that the rule is in place because the server already has too much of an advantage with two opportunities at first strike of the ball. This brings us to the obvious question as to why the server is granted two serves at all.