Latest Posts

What Tennis Can (and Cannot) Learn from Albert Einstein Ace, Marvel, Spy: A Novel of Alice Marble The Final Tiebreaker The Geau Axiom Duffel Bag Tennis Beyond the Headlines: April 21, 2025 A Tennis Resurrection Story for Easter USTA League via the Captain’s Letters

The Net-Cord Stroke

This seems like a good time to inject a topic that is not in the ITF Rules of Tennis, but nevertheless is apparently debated from time to time. We have recently discussed the fact that if a service clips the net cord and falls in, then a let is played. On all other shots, a net-cord strike is basically tough luck. Once again… wait for it… we really don’t know why the distinction even exists.